Skip to content

The Australian Intermediate Mathematics Olympiad (AIMO) is a four-hour contest designed to stretch talented Years 7 to 10 students in mathematics. The Australian Maths Trust also use this competition to determine which students are selected to a number of invitation-only events, including other national and international mathematics competitions, enrichment classes and training schools. It gives talented students an opportunity to be recognised and to participate in activities which will enhance their enjoyment and knowledge of mathematics.

Students in the Senior School were invited to sit the four-hour paper based on their previous high performance in the Haman School Mathematics Competition (HSMC) and Computation and Algorithmic Thinking (CAT) Competition, or their consistently exceptional performance in their mathematics classes throughout the year. 36 students in Years 7 to 10 sat the same four-hour paper in Term 3, with only 2096 students across Australian sitting the competition.

It was great to see so many Years 7 and 8 students participating in the academically rigorous contest, which has given them exposure to a range of challenging problems and will set them up well to achieve highly in this competition when they are in Year 10.

The following students performed exceptionally well in the AIMO to achieve a High Distinction (top 10%) or Distinction (top 25%). We are extremely proud of this excellent achievement.

High Distinction:

  • Yitong (Jonny) Liu (Year 10)
  • William Carrigan (Year 9)


  • Casper Cai (Year 10)
  • Jia (Jackson) Ling (Year 10)
  • Jinyu (Tony) Wang (Year 10)

The following students should also be proud to achieve a Credit in the AIMO, placing them in the top 50% of students who sat the competition in Australia. This is a particularly outstanding achievement for three of our Year 7 students who were competing against older students.


  • Seb Birdseye (Year 10)
  • Alexander Koh (Year 10)
  • Henry Peng (Year 10)
  • David Taylor (Year 10)
  • Lachlan Siow (Year 9)
  • Aarav Kochar (Year 7)
  • Caleb Scott (Year 7)
  • Ryan Weinert (Year 7)

Louise Firth
Coordinator of Maths@Saints