Skip to content

Each year the SA branch of the Australian Institute of Physics awards the Bronze Bragg Medal to a student who achieves the highest result in the SACE Stage 2 Physics and to an IB student who earns the top score possible in the Higher Level Physics across the State.

Congratulations to Shrey Sinhal (SACE) and Thomas Gaertner (IB), two members of our 2020 Year 12 cohort, who were awarded the Bronze Bragg Medal at Adelaide University on Tuesday 16 February 2021.

The award is named after William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg who shared the 1915 Nobel Prize in Physics and who have a close connection to South Australia and our School. The lecture started with the presentation of the medals and continued with a public lecture by Professor Susan Scott from the ANU. Professor Scott beautifully linked Einstein’s field equations with the geometry of spacetime to the distribution of matter within it. This is a rare achievement for our School, and in particular for the Physics Department.

Hiwa Jaldiani
Physics subject Coordinator