Skip to content

Each year the SA branch of the Australian Institute of Physics awards the Bronze Bragg Medal to a student who achieves the highest result in the SACE Stage 2 Physics. Congratulations to Anthony Pham (WDK 2021), who was awarded the Bronze Bragg Medal at Adelaide University on Wednesday, 23 February 2022. The award is named after William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg who shared the 1915 Nobel Prize in Physics and who have a close connection to South Australia and our School.

“The night began with a fascinating, guided tour of the Optics and Photonics Labs in the Bragg building, where all facets of optical fibre construction, research and development were witnessed. After walking through the many labs of the Bragg Building, merit certificates and medals were presented to students in the Bragg lecture theatre. Subsequent to this presentation, Professor Katrina Meissner gave a public lecture on her work in modelling climate change- an extensive and ongoing journey which has included investigating the past and present to maximise the accuracy of her predictions for the future; this was an informative, practical and inspiring lecture on predicting environmental changes due to human influence.”

I would like to sincerely thank Professor Meissner for giving this lecture, Dr. Warren-Smith for the Bragg building tour, and the Australian Institute of Physics for their generosity in facilitating such a memorable night. This is a rare achievement for our school, and in particular for the Physics Department.

Hiwa Jaldiani
Acting Head of Science Faculty