Skip to content

On Thursday 6 June, I travelled to Oakbank with two coaches and our team of 20 Cross Country athletes to compete in the 2024 SSSSA State Schools Cross Country Championships. We enjoyed a very successful day out.

13 Year Boys – Gold Medal winning team from a field of 155 competitors.
Andrei Chemutov – 2nd – Silver Medal
Will Hayes – 4th
Tom – 7th
Nicholas Edwards – 67th

Also competing were Benjamin Gill and 12 Year runners Henry Ye and Cameron Woodley competing up a year level.

16 Year Boys – Gold Medal winning team from a field of 47 competitors.
Hugo Browne – 8th
Harry Clark – 12th
Archie Braithwaite – 13th
Jake Tory – 18th

Open Year Boys – Gold Medal winning team from a field of 66 competitors.
Stephen Lacroix-Sneyd – 1st – Gold Medallist in the 6km event averaging 3 min 12 sec/km pace.
Evan Cox – 10th
Henry Xenophou – 11th
Also competing were Bailey Kerr – 12th and Safinn Gue – 23rd.

15 Year Boys
Shreyus Arramraj and Tim Hayes dead heating in a 4km race for 5th place in a time of 13 min 55.71 sec. 108 runners competed in this race.
Also competing were Hunter Di Blasio and Hugh Harper.

I congratulate every one of our athletes for supporting the day, for their support of each other and for their overall approach to the day’s challenges.

A special thanks to all boys outside of our weekly Cross Country Squad for supporting our objectives inclusive of fielding age group teams.

On behalf of the boys, I thank our Coaching Staff, Adam Goddard and Zac Connell. Their contribution prior to the event and valuable leadership/support on the day was extremely valuable to all squad members. Thank you to all parents and staff who supported the boys’ involvement.

Tony Checker
Athletics Head Coach and Carnivals Coordinator