fbpx

From the Head of Junior School

Posted 16 September 2022
Junior School

Walk a Mile

Thank you to the families who joined together to ‘walk a mile’ around the campus early on Friday morning in support of those experiencing homelessness. It is important to recognise that service isn’t always about giving money and can also be about raising awareness about issues, and being involved in and with our community.

R U Okay? Day

Last week, many a boy would have noticed staff members talking over a Kit Kat. It was ‘R U Okay? Day’, a National Day of Action, reminding us to ask each other how we are getting on and to start a meaningful conversation with someone who might be struggling. Staff members were invited to start a chit chat with a Kit Kat, and the chocolate caught the sight of the students, leading to an opportunity to further the conversation with them.

When I meet students in the car park in the morning, or visit classrooms throughout the day, they demonstrate excellent manners, responding to the question ‘how are you today’ with a confident ‘well, thank you.’ I am so proud of the students, even some of our youngest 3 and 4 year-olds, who are able to make eye contact with confidence whilst politely greeting adults.

However, although we expect impeccable manners from our students and each other, we also care deeply about how boys are feeling. R U Okay? Day was a reminder for us to make sure we check in on our friends, our colleagues, our teachers, our families, and really listen to the answer we are given to make sure we notice when someone in our community isn’t okay. For further information on what do if your friend is not okay, visit headspace.org.

3 Way Conferences

It has been a joy to see students discuss their performance and progress with parents and teachers at 3 Way Conferences over the past week. Professor John Hattie identifies “student self-reporting as the most significant indicator linked to raised student achievement.” Dylan William says, “the process of students reflecting on their learning through effective questioning that promotes the articulation of student thinking, is integral to classroom and assessment practices that enhance student learning”. This is why we involve our students in reporting to parents about their strengths and goals. We also love sharing the spaces the boys spend so much of their time in with their parents!

Have a lovely weekend.

Jasmine Taylor
Head of Junior School

Dates for the Diary

Date Time Event Location
Mon 19 Sep 8.45am – 10.15am Year 5 Poetry Recital Junior School Function Space
Tue 20 Sep 1.45pm House Singing Competition Memorial Hall
Wed 21 Sep 8.45am Year 3 Camp departs Finniss
8.45am ELC Photos ELC
12.15pm-2.45pm Year 1 Excursion Museum
Thu 22 Sep National Day of Mourning National public holiday
Fri 23 Sep 8.45am Whole Junior School Assembly
Tue 27 Sep 2.00-2.30pm Prep – Year 2 Chapel Chapel
2.30-3.00pm Years 3 – 4 Chapel Chapel
Wed 28 Sep 1.45pm – 3.00pm Matinee Concert – Years 1 and 2 Junior School Hall
6.30pm – 8.00pm Evening Concert – Years 1 and 2 Junior School Hall
Thu 29 Sep 7.45am JSFOS Coffee Morning Junior School Function Space
All day Junior School Sports Day Senior School Sports ovals
Fri 30 Sep 1.00pm – 1.45pm Groovin on the Girdlestone Girdlestone Oval
3.00pm Prep to Year 2 End of Term Dismissal
3.15pm Years 3 – 6 End of Term Dismissal

Important Dates for Term 4

Date Time Event Location
Wed 19 Oct 8.45am Year 4 students depart for camp, returning Fri 21 Oct Finniss
Wed 2 Nov 6.30pm Year 3 Concert Memorial Hall
Fri 4 Nov All Day Palm House Sports Day Palm House Oval
Tue 8 Nov 5.30pm – 7.30pm Chamber Recitals Various
Mon 14 Nov 5.30pm – 7.30pm Chamber Recitals Various
Thu 24 Nov 6.30pm – 8.30pm Year 4 Concert Memorial Hall
Wed 30 Nov 2.00pm-3.00pm Matinee Reception Nativity Performance Junior School Hall
5.30pm – 6.30pm Reception Nativity Performance Junior School Hall
Fri 2 Dec All Day Junior School Step up Day Various
Mon 5 Dec 1.30pm – 3.00pm Year 6 Graduation Memorial Hall
Wed 7 Dec 1.30pm – 3.00pm Speech Day Memorial Hall
Thu 8 Dec 11.00am ELC Concert Junior School Hall
Fri 9 Dec End of Term 4