Skip to content

The 2020 academic year has been an incredible one. Although the challenges of COVID-19 that came in the wake of the summer bushfires have shaped our year, I am proud of how much we, as a community, have been able to achieve.

In the last fortnight alone, we have seen students perform in a Reception Nativity concert, lunchtime Rock Bands, a Year 4 Band Concert, the Year 5 and 6 Music Showcase and an ELC celebration concert. We have seen our Year 6 students graduate in Memorial Hall and acknowledged the effort and achievement of students at our Year 3-6 Speech Day. It has been extremely disappointing to not have parents in the audience at all of these events. I am, however, grateful that the boys have had an opportunity to perform, present and be celebrated through their participation in the many events.

Looking back over the year, we can also be proud of the introduction of additional co-curricular activities; Mother Tongue Chinese lessons, Junior School Badminton, Accelium and Theatre Bugs, to name a few.

On that note, Code Camp will be running again in the January school holidays from 12-14 January 2021.

I would like to thank Year 6 students Leo Dreosti, Junior School Captain, and Quinn Murphy, Vice Captain, for their leadership this year. I would also like to thank the following Year 6 students for their leadership in their respective Houses and subject areas:

2020 Subjects Captains
Art: Nicholas Robertson
Music: Shaarav Reddy
Sport: Jimmy Hele

2020 House Captains
Alliston Jones: Hugo Browne and Jack Hollington
Brookes: Miles Chipperfield and Emerson Cooper
Clayton Dyer: Louis Adamson and Ethan Cross
Stokes-Ware:  Edward Gartrell and Andrew Hattingh

I am also delighted to introduce our 2021 Junior School Student Leaders:

Junior School Captain: Caleb Scott
Junior School Vice Captain: Ryan Weinert

2021 Subjects Captains
Art: Aarav Kochar
Music: Ned Manifold
Sport: Jordy Browne

2021 House Captains
Alliston Jones: Adi Baghel and Hunter Di Blasio
Brookes: Krishn Arora and Joshua Maung
Clayton Dyer: Sebastian Harms and Daniel Spyrou
Stokes-Ware:  Sam Lake and Jerry Liu

I would like to thank all my colleagues at St Peter’s College, for the care and guidance they have shown to their students this year.

I am particularly grateful for the support and advice of the Junior School Leadership team of Mrs Sheryle Yorston, Mrs Ceri Slinger and Mr Ben Storer.

I would also like to acknowledge the contribution of staff members who will be leaving us at the end of this year.

Mrs Tara Blackburn will continue her teaching career at Loreto College next year.

Mrs Caryn Schutz, after nine years of service to St Peter’s College, as a classroom teacher and a Year Level Coordinator, will continue her career as Learning and Teaching Coordinator at Trinity College North Campus.

Mrs Julie Marshall, after nine years of service to St Peter’s College as an upper primary teacher and coordinator, has made the decision to retire from teaching, to pursue other interests.

Mrs Ada D’Onofrio, after 11 years of service to St Peter’s College as a homeroom teacher and coordinator resigned earlier this year.

Mr Sam Tirrell, after 12 years of service to St Peter’s College as a homeroom teacher and Head of House has decided to pursue other teaching opportunities.

Mrs Sheryle Yorston, over 23 years of service to St Peter’s College as Head of Early Years, Sheryle has seen numerous cohorts of students enter the ELC and graduate from Year 12. Sheryle, your passion for early childhood education and giving the School’s youngest students the best possible foundation will be appreciated in our community for many years to come.

I wish all our departing staff members all the best in their future endeavors.

I wish you all a safe and peaceful Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back to St Peter’s College in the new year.

Kindest regards,

Jasmine Taylor
Head of Junior School

2021 Term Dates

Term 1
Thursday 28 January – Thursday 1 April

Term 2
Tuesday 20 April – Friday 25 June

Term 3
Tuesday 20 July – Friday 24 September

Term 4
Tuesday 12 October – Friday 3 December