Skip to content

Students in Year 4, 5 and  6 have participated in the IPSHA Poetry Competition this term. The competition is organised for the Independent Schools in South Australia with 11 Independent schools taking part. Students are required to learn and recite a set poem and then choose their own poem to recite. They performed in their classes and two finalists from each class progressed to the Year Level Finals which were held last week.

The standard was exceptionally high with many students challenging themselves to learn extremely complex poems and perform them with clarity, expression and emotion. I would like to thank Mrs Jasmine Taylor, Mr David Kolpak, Mrs Sue Dansie and Ms Alison Winter for making time in their busy schedules to come and adjudicate.

The winner from each Year Level will represent the School at the Grand Final to be held at St Peter’s Girls School on Wednesday 4 September.

Year 4 Finalists


Oscar Kleinig

Ned Manifold


Aarav Kocher

Daniel Spyrou


Sarvin Mahadavan

Jamie Wong

Year 4 Winner – Jamie Wong

Set Poem – Mother Doesn’t want a Dog by Judith Viorst

Chosen Poem –  Little Red Riding Hood and The Wolf by Roald Dahl

Year 5 Finalists


Daniel Latimer

Shaarav Reddy


James Wilson

William Adams-Leask


Benjamin Howell

William Foreman


Emerson Cooper

Nicholas Robertson

Year 5 WinnerJames Wilson

Set Poem – The Magic of the Mind by Clive Webster

Chosen Poem – Hot Food by Michael Rosen

Year 6 Finalists


Ishaan Chaudhuri

Jake Wong


Jack Pillay

Alexander Nguyen


Angus Tolley

Lochie Siow



Krish Raju

Ahaan Kothari

Year 6 Winner –  Ahaan Kothari

Set Poem  – The Magic Box by Kit Wright

Chosen Poem –  My Snails Have Not Yet Arrived by Les Barker

Congratulations to all the Finalists and we wish the Year Level Winners all the best in the Grand Final on September 4.

Mrs Ceri Slinger
Head of Junior Years – Learning and Teaching Excellence