Skip to content

On a wet and windy September afternoon the language students took to the pitches on the Lloyd Oval to battle it out for the prestigious Languages Soccer Cup.

The Junior teams comprising boys from Years 7 to 9 played six matches to determine the victor for 2019. France dominated China in the first game with Tom Hodgkison (Year 8) taking the MVP for his volley from the corner. On the final whistle France finished winners 4-0. Germany conquered the UN (EAL and Learning Support) 3-0 in the second match. In game three, Fergus Carruthers (Year 9), MVP for France scored two goals but couldn’t keep Germany away from the goal mouth, taking the win 4-2. The UN defeated China in game four. With two matches to decide our winner for 2019 France played with a renewed determination against the UN to take the win 2-0. In the final match a strong German offence overcame China 2-0. The MVP for the German junior team was Stellan Stolcman (Year 7).

“He had the most assists and scored two goals” reported Captain, Emmanuel Syrianos (Year 9).

Junior Winners            Germany
Runners Up                 France

On the Senior pitch language students from Year 10 to 12 gave it their all in the hope to take home the trophy. Germany got off to a strong start defeating China 4-0 with Will Chadwick (Year 10) named as MVP. In the second match France took on the UN (Spanish and EAL) and despite a valiant performance from David Amaechi (Year 12) for the UN, France took the win with Julian Mortimer (Year 10), Orlando Sagrillo-Yeaman (Year 10) and Marcus Sorvanis (Year 10) scoring goals. An uneventful match followed with the UN and China ending on 0-0. Germany won against France 3-0 and a draw with the UN 1-1, rendering them the overall winners. The last match of the day saw China versing France which ended in a disappointing 0-0 result.

Senior Winners           Germany
Runners Up                 France.

A big thank-you to all who came out to cheer on the boys and the staff who supervised the event. Special mention to our referees, Mr Sean Inman, Mr Matthew French and Mr James Hodgkison for without whom none of this would have been possible.

Rachel Spiby
Head of Languages