Skip to content

We’ve had some remarkable achievements by our senior school boys competing in the 2019 Pedal Prix competition. Saints entered four Human Powered Vehicles (HVP’s) with students from Year 7-12 competing in various six-hour and 24-hour long endurance races.

The final race of the season was last weekend in Murray Bridge; a 24-hour torture test of fatigue, physical exhaustion, crashes and pain. This was offset by team work, resilience, a healthy dose of humour and a desire to achieve their best. The boys have trained very hard all season to be in peak condition for the final race. To have all four vehicles finish the 24-hours is a remarkable achievement. Of particular note is the performance of the Vector (Cat.3 Open) team. They went through the season undefeated, with victories in Loxton, two 6-hour Victoria Park races and 24-hour Murray Bridge. As such, they are now Australian HPV Open High School Champions!

Further details about the event, including live stream vision, can be found here:

Racing aside, the highlight is to see the camaraderie of our boys and the resilience they displayed in often miserable conditions. To have Year 11 and 12 boys genuinely caring for Year 7s and their welfare is something truly unique about this competition.

During Athletics Day team members were even volunteering to clean tarps and equipment from the weekend, much of it covered in glorious Murray Bridge mud! A special mention to: Jake Nesbitt (Year 9), Angus Ritossa (Year 12), Angus Miller (Year 11), Cooper Cox (Year 11), Rhys Godfrey (Year 11) and Aaron Sweet (Year 7).

Thank you to Mark Coventry for his continued support and the 2.00am shift change-over! Old scholars Will Ritossa (HWD ’18) and Fergus Kelso (MAC ’14) continue to be superb in their capacity as team coaches. Their willingness to put back into the school is exceptional and they continue to be remarkable role models for our current boys.

The individual team results are below, please congratulate the boys if you see them.

Kind regards,
Nick Lamont, Head of Faculty – Technology