Skip to content

This year marked the 60th South Australian Hamann School Mathematics Competition (SMC). The SMC was sponsored by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) who donated the prizes awarded to the top achieving students in each division of the competition. The SPE is an international not-for-profit organisation engaged in gas and oil exploration and production, and they sponsor the competition as part of their commitment to Mathematics education in South Australian schools. The competition aims to encourage motivated and interested students to enjoy the challenge of abstract mathematical problems. The SMC ran on Wednesday of Week 8 in Term 1, with 144 students in the Senior School and one student in the Junior School sitting the 90-minute competition paper.

All Mathematics students in the Senior School were invited to enter, with those in Advanced Mathematics classes strongly encouraged to participate. The School competed in three divisions: Junior (Years 7 and 8), Intermediate (Years 9 and 10) and Senior (Years 11 and 12). Monetary prizes were awarded to the top 10 students in each division, as well as those who achieved a High Distinction or Distinction.

The following students performed exceptionally in the SMC in Term 1, achieving a Credit or above which places them in the top 4% of all students in their respective division who sat the SMC in South Australia. These students have been invited to receive their certificates and prizes at the Mathematical Association of South Australia (MASA) Presentation Night on 23 June. This is an exceptional achievement, and we are very proud of the following students:

Junior Competition (Years 7 to 8)

Tao Wong Year 5 6th place
Lachlan Siow Year 8 9th place
William Carrigan Year 8 Equal 10th place
Harry Manifold Year 8 Distinction
Joseph Fitzgerald Year 8 Credit
Alexander Nguyen Year 8 Credit
Lachlyn Vuong Year 8 Credit

Intermediate Competition (Years 9 to 10)

Darren Nguyen Year 10 1st place
Casper Cai Year 9 3rd place
Alexander Koh Year 9 5th place
Yitong (Jonny) Liu Year 9 High Distinction
Gunin Singhal Year 10 High Distinction
Declan Ee Year 10 Distinction
Max Wang Year 10 Distinction

Senior Competition (Years 11 to 12)

Xian Huang Year 12 1st Place
Alexander Grice Year 11 High Distinction
Matthew Lam Year 11 Distinction
Sachin Ravindran Year 12 Distinction
Tom Hosking Year 12 Distinction
 Adrian Shum Year 12 Credit

Louise Firth
Coordinator of Maths@Saints