Skip to content

During the month of May, Adelaide takes a look through time with South Australia’s History Festival. This year on Wednesday 29 May, St Peter’s College opened its doors to the public and hosted an event: the St Peter’s College History Tour. The tour took 60 attendees back in time, showcasing the history of the School’s oldest buildings in its heritage precinct.

The tour started with Big School Room which was the first completed building in 1850, then to the first on-site boarders’ residence and educational hub completed in 1857 that we now know and love as Old School House. The tour groups then made their way to the Chapel which opened in 1864, then historic Memorial Hall which opened in 1929 and the Big Quad with the Jury Fountain. Members of the student Historical Society volunteered their time to be Stop Guides, sharing their wealth of knowledge of each of the buildings with those in attendance.

The event was particularly special for several attendees who have no living connection to SPSC, but who had fathers, grandfathers or great-grandfathers that attended or taught at the School. It was a special experience for them to be able to stand and walk where their ancestors had before them and learn about what life may have been like while there were at the School.

Elizabeth Bramford
School Archivist

Click on the following links to learn more about the historic school buildings:

Big School Room

Old School House

The Chapel

Memorial Hall

Big Quad